Community directory

We’re working on a new, searchable directory of community groups and facilities in Tawa. In the meantime, here’s our existing list.

Jump to: Events / Early childhood / Primary schools / Intermediate / College / Churches / Community groups / Sports clubs

Events

Spring into Tawa: Stacey Richardson, [email protected], www.springintotawa.nz

Tawa Community Christmas Carols: Tina Elsdon, [email protected], www.facebook.com/tawacommunitychristmascarols

Schools

Tawa is lucky enough to have a number of different educational options on our doorstep. There is a variety of early childhood facilities, excellent primary schools, as well as an Intermediate and College right here in our own suburb.

Early Childhood

KinderCare – 25 Main Road, Tawa: https://www.kindercare.co.nz/our-childcare-centres/wellington-childcare-centres/tawa

Best Start Tawa – 3 Redwood Avenue, Tawa: https://best-start.org/centres/beststart-tawa

Best Start Tawa South – 54-62 Redwood Avenue, Tawa: https://best-start.org/centres/beststart-tawa-south

Oxford Street Kindergarten – 57 Oxford Street, Tawa: https://best-start.org/centres/beststart-oxford-street-kindy

Tawa Central Kindergarten – 21 Oxford Street, Tawa: http://www.wmkindergartens.org.nz/Find-Kindergarten/Wellington-North/Tawa-Central-Kindergarten-__I.2586__C.1634__N.135

Tui Park Kindergarten – 12b Mexted Terrace, Linden: http://www.wmkindergartens.org.nz/Find-Kindergarten/Wellington-North/Tawa-Central-Kindergarten-__I.2586__C.1634__N.135

Brian Webb Kindergarten – 28 Victory Crescent, Tawa: http://www.wmkindergartens.org.nz/Find-Kindergarten/Wellington-North/Brian-Webb-Kindergarten-__I.2516__C.1634__N.135

Tawa Linden Playcentre – 1 Ranui Terrace, Linden: http://wellingtonplaycentre.org.nz/playcentres-category/tawa-linden-playcentre

Tawa Montessori Preschool – 25 Hinau Street, Tawa: http://www.tawamontessori.co.nz/

Reggio Bambino – 24 Main Road, Outlet City, Tawa: http://www.reggiobambini.nz/

Nga Hauranga Kōhanga Reo: 55 Victory Crescent, Tawa

Te Iwi Kōhanga Reo – 51a Coates Street, Linden

Primary

Greenacres School – 60 Raroa Terrace, Tawa: www.greenacres.school.nz

Hampton Hill School – Rimu Street, Tawa: www.hamptonhill.school.nz

Linden School – 58 Ranui Terrace, Linden: www.linden.school.nz

Redwood School – Redwood Avenue, Tawa: www.redwood.school.nz

St Francis Xavier School – 69 Main Road, Tawa: https://sites.google.com/sfxtawa.school.nz/sfx-tawa

Tawa School – Oxford Street, Tawa: www.tawa.school.nz

Tawa Manaaki Montessori – Oxford Street, Tawa: www.montessoritawa.org

Intermediate

Tawa Intermediate School – Ranui Terrace, Tawa: www.tawaint.school.nz

College

Tawa College – Duncan Street, Tawa: www.tawacollege.school.nz

Tawa Community Education at Tawa College – Duncan Street, Tawa: www.tawacomed.co.nz

Churches

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints – 114 Main Road, Tawa

Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church – 169 Main Road, Tawa (cnr of Lyndhurst Road): www.tawacatholic.org.nz

Salvation Army Tawa – 175 Main Road, Tawa: www.salvationarmy.org.nz/centres/nz/lower-north-island/tawa

Tawa Baptist Church – 225-229 Main Road, Tawa: www.tawabaptist.wordpress.com

Tawa Gospel Hall – 3 Elena Place, Tawa

Tawa New Life Church – 236 Main Road, Tawa: www.tawanlc.org.nz

Tawa Samoan Assembly Of God – 226 Main Road, Tawa

Tawa Union Church – 6 Elena Place, Tawa: www.tawaunionchurch.org.nz

Tawa-Linden Anglican – St Christopher’s Church – Cnr Main & Lyndhurst Roads, Tawa: www.tac.org.nz

Tawa-Linden Anglican – St Peter’s Church – Cnr Collins Ave & Hinau St, Linden: www.tac.org.nz

Community groups

Tawa Community Board: https://wellington.govt.nz/your-council/meetings/committees/tawa-community-board, https://www.facebook.com/tawacommunityboard

Tawa Residents’ Association: https://tawa.org.nz, https://www.facebook.com/VibrantTawa/

Tawa Business Group: https://tawabusiness.co.nz,
https://www.facebook.com/tawabusiness/

Lions Club of Tawa: http://www.lionsclubs.org.nz/Clubs/202M/Zone-6/Tawa, https://www.facebook.com/TawaLions/

Rotary Club of Tawa Inc: https://tawarotary.org.nz/, https://www.facebook.com/Rotary-Club-of-Tawa-77724753196/

Tawa Inner Wheel: https://www.innerwheel.org.nz/nz294.html, https://www.facebook.com/innerwheeltawa/

Friends of Tawa Bush Reserves Inc: www.tawabush.org.nz, https://www.facebook.com/FriendsofTawaBush/

The Probus Club of Tawa Inc: https://www.communityfinder.org.nz/c/combined-probus-club-of-tawa-inc2, https://www.facebook.com/groups/1872343369722705/

MenzShed Tawa Inc: http://menzshed.org.nz/menzshed-tawa/, https://www.facebook.com/TawaMenzShed/

Tawa U3A Inc: http://u3a.gargal.net/, https://www.facebook.com/u3atawa/

Tawa Historical Society Inc: http://www.tawahistory.org.nz/

Kiwi Community Assistance: https://www.kca.org.nz/, https://www.facebook.com/kiwicommunityassistance/

Pest Free Tawa: https://www.pfw.org.nz/get-involved/groups/pest-free-tawa/, https://www.facebook.com/pestfreetawa/

Tawa-Linden Association of Anglican Women (AAW): http://www.anglican.org.nz/AAW

Tawa Community Garden, Oxford Street, Tawa: https://www.facebook.com/tawacommunitygarden/

Tawa and Linden Community Centres: https://wellington.govt.nz/services/community-and-culture/community-centres, https://www.facebook.com/TawaAndLindenCommunityCentres/

Tawa Volunteer Fire Brigade: https://www.facebook.com/Tawa-Volunteer-Fire-Brigade-215455908516537/

Tawa Toastmasters: https://www.facebook.com/TawaToastmasters/

Pop-in Community Playgroup: http://www.facebook.com/popincommunityplaygroup

Bellyful Porirua (covers Tawa): https://www.facebook.com/BellyfulPorirua/

AMDC Dance Academy: www.amcd.co.nz, https://www.facebook.com/AMDANCECOLLECTIVE/

Arts a Go Go Performing Arts School for Kids: www.artsagogo.co.nz, https://www.facebook.com/artsagogo/

Tawa Learners Band: https://www.facebook.com/TawaLearnersBand/

Kapi-Mana Bridge Club:
https://www.kmbc.org.nz/, https://www.facebook.com/kmbc123/

Tawa Tai Chi: https://www.facebook.com/tawataichi/

The Pop-up Market: https://www.facebook.com/thepopupmarketnz/

Tawa-Linden Plunket: https://www.plunket.org.nz/plunket/show/tawa-linden-plunket-committee, https://www.facebook.com/TawaLindenPlunket/

Tawa Scout Group: http://www.scoutgroupdirectory.co.nz/tawa-scout-group/

GreyPower: https://greypower.co.nz/associations/mana-tawa/, https://www.facebook.com/greypowernz/

Redwood Club: https://www.communityfinder.org.nz/r/redwood-club

Sports clubs

Tawa Rugby Football Club: www.tawarugby.co.nz

North City Cricket Club: www.northcitycricketclub.co.nz, www.facebook.com/NorthCityCricket/

Tawa Squash Club: www.facebook.com/TawaSquash, http://tawasquash.weebly.com/

Wellington North Badminton Club: http://www.wnba.org.nz/

Tawa Football Club: http://tawafootball.org.nz/

Tawa Junior Hockey Club: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1470174213194801/

Tawa Lyndhurst Tennis Club: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010295403390

Tawa Softball Club: https://www.facebook.com/Tawa.Softball.Club/

Tawa Bowling Club: https://bowlstawa.com/

Tawa Swimming Club: https://www.swimtawa.org.nz/